Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 25th, 2010

Army Girl is home!

We went and picked up Army Girl today.  We left here about 8 this morning because the weather was terrible.  It rained most of the night and switched to snow this morning.  There were a few hairy moments while we were driving, the car started sliding and was heading right for the abutment (I think that is what the end part of the bridge railing is called) of a bridge.  Hubby let of the gas and about 4 feet from slamming into the bridge the car straightened out and on down the road we went.  I was practically peeing my pants freaking out.  Scary scary ride.  The farther south we went the better the roads were.  Now the better is a relative term in this case.  They were snow-covered, slippery and wet all at the same time.  We made good time getting down there, Hubby found an easy way to get there and the roads were really nice.  Aside from them being snow-covered etc.  We made it to the base in pretty good time, we waited about 1 1/2 hours for her to get released.  We knew there was a possibility that we would be waiting, we really expected it to take more time than it did considering the roads. 

Army Girl was finally released and we headed north.  By this time the roads had been heavily salted and plowed so were mostly wet.  We stopped at Target and picked up some things and made it home before 5.  Army Girl has been working on getting her computer connected to my network.  After much fits and starts and a few swearwords and a threat or two it is finally connected and she is a happy camper.  I know I am very happy to have her home. 

This is part of an e-mail I received from Navy Girl today:  

So we’re out to sea again.  Contrary to popular rumor, we’re not going to go south for relief efforts.  Instead, we’re going to throw and catch airplanes all day (and large chunks of the night).  Yay, us!  

Of course, the weather may have other plans.  We’ve been rocking pretty hard for portions of the day, and every single night we seem to pitch farther back and forth.

Oooh! Side story: the powers that be in xxxx  have instituted a regime change.  The guy directly above me in the chain has been replaced with someone who actually gives a damn.  It’s a good thing, but it has come with a price: we now have an actual schedule and assigned times for workouts and such.  That means my workout has gotten a lot colder (because it is now done at, “Oh my god there are two of them?” thirty), and with the way we plow through waves at night, it has also gotten a lot trickier.  The elliptical machines I use at Seaside Gym face outboard…so half the time, I’m going at an incline, half the time, I’m at a decline.  This wouldn’t be bad if I knew when these changes were coming…but…yeah.  I guess the good news is that I can’t fall off these ones…but I do have a couple of interesting bruises.  It’s a fun game, actually, to gauge how far we’re listing by finding a reference on the horizon and watching it go up and down.  The game only works when we’re actually passing something like a distant oil rig, though, because it’s dark enough out here that I can’t tell where the water ends and the sky starts.  I’ve got to find something that is lit up to make it work, follow-the-bouncing-ball style.

I talked to Air Force Girl, she is doing good.  Hubby had sent her a text message earlier today asking her if she was up, the answer was no.  She didn’t get up till 1 this afternoon.  She goes to school in what is called B shift, 3:30pm to 12:30am.  She is so totally her dads kid, he would stay up late like that if he didn’t have to be at work by 6:00am.  Air Force Girl has never been a morning person, when she was here I just didn’t talk to her in the mornings.  To many words and she got really cranky.  I am glad she is doing good. 

Happy thoughts for a happy day!

Read Full Post »