Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 19th, 2009

“Oh what a tangled web do parents weave when they think their children are naive.”
Ogden Nash

We all want to believe our children are naive and don’t know the “facts of life” whether those facts of life are sex or how the world works. Our children all watch TV, and as Air Force Girl pointed out she went to high school. And as everyone knows high school kids know everything. People are gossipy, sexual beings and high school is where all of that explodes in full force. Expecting my girls to not know what is happening out in the world is naive on my part. I know that Air Force Girl knows a lot of what is happening around the world. We have never not told her things or answered questions. I still worry. Where we live is so small compared to the rest of the world. She/they have not been exposed to a lot things that people from bigger cities have been. Some of that is good and some of that is bad. I know that when Army Girl went to basic training she talked to the other girls and said hey I come from a tiny town where I have not been exposed to xyz and if I say or do something that you don’t like please tell me so I don’t do it again. I hope the reality will be she will be fine.

I am really liking this working two half days a week. I feel like I am getting some good quality work done. I am busy the whole 4 hours I am there, unlike before where I play catch up for the first half of the day and then by the end of the day am struggling to find something to do. I also feel like I know more of what is going on. Plus my boss remembers I am there more and gives me more to do. I like being busy. I have so much to learn about doors.

I swam 24 laps yesterday and did 58 sit ups. I have not done push ups in a couple days. What a slacker! It looks like it might rain again this morning. It is very humid and supposed to get hotter for the next week. I guess that is a good thing. It will get us used to the heat for when we go to the family reunion next weekend. Wow already. Time keeps flying by. I saw where the kids here have to go back to school in 75 days. I have not even thought about counting down the days till Air Force Girl leaves. I guess I just don’t want to know. Deliberate naivety on my part.

Hubby is watching the US Open on TV. I would love to go play golf. I learned in college and really haven’t had the opportunity to do much since. Many deals are made on golf courses. That is one of the reasons I learned how to play. I should talk to Hubby about digging out the clubs and getting some whiffle balls to practice with in the yard. That would be fun. Cheap too! And right now it is all about the cheap.

My condolences to Navy Girl and Army Girl on the death of their stepGrandma. We look forward to seeing Navy Girl this weekend even though it is for sad reasons. We will miss Army Girl being here. Congrats to brother C and wife L on the birth of their baby girl. Mother and baby are doing fine. We are so happy for them.

Happy thoughts for a happy day.

Read Full Post »