Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 6th, 2011

67 years is a long time.  And yet it still seems like yesterday when such a heroic effort took place.  67 years, is almost as old as Gpa, is a little less than the combined ages of Navy Girl, Army Girl and Air Force Girl and oh so very important.  67 years ago gallant men who knew they would die took up their arms and invaded France.  So many gallant men left everything they had on the battle field so that we could continue in the life we have today.  67 years ago 184,000 men arrived by parachute and by amphibious vehicles at Normandy.  67 years ago 9,000 gallant men died so that more than 100,000 men could come ashore and start the beginning of the end of the worst war in history.  It was such a high price to pay, for these gallant men.

I cannot begin to thank them enough for all that they did for us.  For what our gallant men and women do for us still.  I am so proud that in some small way I can be a part of thanking those gallant men who 67 years ago gave all.

 

THANK YOU ALL

Read Full Post »

I have radishes, beans and peas coming up already in my garden.  No carrots yet, I thought they would be up by now.  Hmmm.  I really don’t know much about gardening so maybe that is just the way it is.  Navy Girl has tomatoes already.  Of course she started her garden in March, because it is much warmer there than here, I just want stuff now!  Although I am thinking we are going to end up with radishes galore.

I have had to water the garden every day since we put it in, it keeps looking like it will rain but it just seems to evaporate as it goes by.  It rain so much up until I put my garden in.  In fact we had to wait a day to plant.

I am very distracted writing this, Gpa is watching Cartoon Network, Looney Tunes, no less.  From the looks of it they have redone many of the old ones with computer animation.   Same basic plots, just done with computer anime, rather than the old hand painted cels.  I am not sure I like it.  I know that kids would like it better because they are used to seeing it that way but . . . I don’t know, I just don’t care for it.  LOL from Looney Tunes to Bones, now that is a 180 degree switch!

It is supposed to be hot and humid for the next few days so I think my garden will grow a whole bunch.  When my carrots finally decide to make an appearance I will post another picture.  I am so looking forward to having my own fresh grown veggies.  I hate waiting!

Read Full Post »