Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 29th, 2009

Property taxes, diet planning, top ten lists, I think the end of the year and the end of the decade is near.  Yes I can read the calendar I know the calendar says the end of the year is near, so does my check book.  The end of one year, the beginning of the next, a time to shake off the old cobwebs to make room for the new ones we will build this year is now.  We always start the new year with the best of intentions.  I will take better care of myself, I will eat better, I will be nicer, I will not be so afraid.  And for the first week or so we do pretty good.  But old habits are hard to break, and pretty soon we slide back into them. 

Research says it takes 30 make a new habit.  I think it takes a lot longer than that.  Last year Hubby and I started doing push ups and sit ups everyday.  We did a pretty good job for almost a month, then we just sort of stopped.  We almost had a habit in theory.  I think we were too punitive in days we missed.  I am a great believer in starting with 1.  The first day of the year is this Friday, on this Friday I will do one push up and one sit up.  Everyday after that I will add one more to it.  Plus the other types of workouts we decide on.

When I started swimming I went aquajogging for 30 minutes I started swimming laps with one length of the pool.  It seemed like such a long way, and man was it ever!  I was pooped by the time I made it to the end.  The next time I went swimming I swam down and back, one full lap.  It seemed like it took forever.  I added 1 length of the pool each time until I was swimming more than half the time I was there.  So I quit aquajogging entirely and swam laps, now I swim 45 minutes or 1 mile (35 laps) which ever comes last.  So far 1 mile has come last but some day . . . one lap at a time I will swim a mile in less than 45 minutes. 

I have decided to start a page of this blog just for my diet and exercise.  I hope to be able to show progress every week.  I am hoping that plotting my progress on that page will help me develop a new habit.  Army Girl has a new habit, she runs almost everyday.  She has gotten to like her habit so much she even looks for shoes and clothes to wear when she gets home and it is so cold.  Navy Girl is developing a habit, she worried that she would be away from working out for to long while she is home.  She can do my taped shows if she would like and she can swim with me too.  Air Force Girl has no choice, they still make her work out so who knows what habits she will maintain.  We all know of Hubby’s habit/obsession with walking.  Here’s to developing new habits!  Cheers.

Happy thoughts for a happy day.

Read Full Post »

balance

I got Hubby a present for Christmas.  We had said we weren’t going to get each other anything this year but I saw this balance board on one of my exercise shows and I wanted one.  So I got it for Hubby, he was very cranky that I got him a present, I think some of it was because he didn’t get me anything so he was worried I would be mad at him.  But hey I went against the rules.  I was mad at him because instead of just saying thanks, he was a jerk.  But we have  . . . kissed yeah “kissed” and made up.  😀 Multiple times.  😳 

We have been trying out the different exercises that came with the balance board.  The one we got is from Reebok and it cost me $17.99 at Target.  So far we really like it.  Ask me tomorrow how sore we are.  You can really feel it in your stomach and legs just standing on it.  It will be interesting how we feel a year from now.  I hope we will be considerably lighter and in even better health than we already are.  That is the goal anyway. 

Chatted briefly with Army Girl today, she was getting ready to go for a run, I was getting ready for work.  She is good.  That is pretty much the whole conversation in a nut shell.  Air Force Girl is having fun hanging with her friends.  And I have no idea what Navy Girl is doing except hopefully getting ready to come home.  I am so excited!  When your children reach a certain age you generally have no idea what they are doing and when they are doing it, having children in the military just accelerates that between you and your children.  Some day  you get used to it.  I am not sure when that will be but some day.

Happy thoughts for a happy day.

Read Full Post »