Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 28th, 2009

being loved

Everyone wants to be loved.  Everyone needs to be loved, it is one of those basic necessities like breathing, eating,  and drinking.  There are different types of love, familial, lustful, puppy, friendship, self.  All very much important to the people feeling them.  Of all of the types of love, loving yourself is the most important.  Wait, What!? you are saying.  But think about it, if you don’t love yourself, how can you love others the way they deserve?  It has taken me  a long time to realize this is one of the biggest truisms out there.  I have loved everyone except myself for a long time.  If I can’t accept myself for who I am how can I expect others to accept me?  Do you love yourself?  Tell me about it.  When did you realize “hey I am ok, I am loveable, I deserve to be loved not just by others but by myself too.”  I am wonderful, I deserve to love myself as I love everyone else.  Sometimes it takes 40+ years to figure it out.  Sometimes it takes just a few years and sometimes people never get it.  Have you gotten it? 

“Women in general want to be loved for what they are and men for what they accomplish.” — Theodor Reik

 Happy thoughts for a happy day!

Read Full Post »