Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 24th, 2009

posting

Hi I think I have it figured out for commenting on my blog.  All you have to do is click where it says leave a comment, then it will ask you for your name, what ever user name you want and your e-mail address, it will show your user name but not your email address and then make your comment.  it will come to me and I will read it and post it.  I have it so it comes to me so I can moderate the comments.  I do not want anyone saying mean things about my girls, me you can say what you want but not my girls who are fighting for our country.

Read Full Post »

Perpetual Optimism

Good morning!

Sorry I didn’t write yesterday. I worked and then got my hair done. I think I like it. I had low lights put in. Air Force Girl has been very vocal in the fact that she did not like the color it was. So I had low lights put in to cut the brassiness. It will take me a bit to get used to it. A couple days and I probably won’t notice it anymore. Air Force Girl and I went to see the new Harry Potter movie last night. It was pretty good. The biggest problem with movies made from really good books is they have to cut and paste so much. You miss a lot in movies that is included in the books. But Air Force Girl and I had a good time, while Hubby stayed home.

Navy Girl has found out where she is going. It is not where she wanted but her Master Chief and her Captain has assured her that where she is going to is a good ship. Also the time frame works out wonderfully for Army Girl to go and visit her.

I know that Army Girl has had a rough week. Between being sick all week and not getting promoted this time she has had it rough. But she will persevere and have a much better next week. Air Force Girl’s sometime boyfriend left for basic training this week. I think he was more than a little freaked out by the time he got there. So Air Force Girl was a little freaked too. So I think I calmed her down by pointing out that Navy Girl made it through basic training and if she could Air Force Girl could too. Navy Girl being the least athletic of the three of them. When I told Navy Girl that I had used her as an example she laughed and said that is pretty much what she would have told her too! 😉

When Hubby and I were driving to Illinois in June we did some brainstorming on possible ideas for future blogs.  One of the ideas was:   Smiling and persevering in the face of disaster.  Now not getting promoted, not getting the ship you want, and being scared, are not necessarily disasters, but they are things you have to “grin and bear.”  We may not want to but sometimes – more often than not- what we want and what is good for us are totally different.  So continuing to smile and have a positive attitude works.  This week has gone much better for me with a more positive attitude than last week did with a very negative one.  I found this quote from Colin Powel “Perpetual optimism is a force multiplier”  I think it works.  Please let me know if it works for you.

Happy thoughts for a happy day!

Read Full Post »